An Obstacle to Finding Close Companionship

The theme of this month’s Carnival of Aces is ‘Obstacles’.

As an aro-ace, I doubt I or my partner(s) would be happy in a close romantic-sexual relationship, at least not without a ton of negotiation, and staying out of that is easier.

Yet I do want more close companionship in my life. People who I can share physical affection (I am thinking about things like playing with hair). People with whom I can share a very personal part of myself.

One of the obstacles is that this is something which, in the societies I have lived in, is reserved for sexual/romantic relationships, and perhaps is also available in family relationships.

Now, I can get some of the close companionship I want from my parents … when a) we are all in the same physical location, and b) I actually talk to them. This has pretty much not been happening since I started this blog (e-mail does not cut it), though I do plan to be with my parents again before the year is over.

Being with my parents will help, but it might not be enough.

Yet most people in Anglophone society pursue this type of close companionship within the context of sexual-romantic relationships (and even when they do this with family as well, I cannot suddenly become a part of someone else’s family). I have talked a a bit about what it is like in Taiwan before – the short version is that Taiwan is not a good place for me to pursue close companionship, and yes, this is one of the factors which persuaded me to finally leave.

So, if I try to form these relationships with people, they a) do not expect it in a non-sexual/romantic context b) if they already get their need for close companionship met from their sexual/romantic relationship(s), why do they need to bother with understanding my issues as an aro-ace? c) having a close relationship with me may bring up jealousy issues within their own sexual/romantic relationship(s).

Some people might say ‘find other aro and/or ace folk’. Well, there are not so many of us, and even less of us who are aware, and I am probably not compatible with every single aro/ace out there.

In a culture which was more open to close companionship with people outside one’s biological family in a non-sexual/romantic context, this would not be so much of an issue. But this clash between my aro-aceness and a culture/society which considers sexual-romantic relationships *the* way to pursue close companionship is an obstacle towards getting what I want.


CC0


To the extent possible under law,
the person who associated CC0
with this work has waived all copyright and related or neighboring
rights to this work.

One thought on “An Obstacle to Finding Close Companionship

  1. Hello,
    I think that I’m far away from your place but we have so much things in common.
    So I give you my e-mail.
    Good bye.

Leave a Reply

